Movin' Out
Original Broadway Cast Recording


1. Scenes From An Italian Restaurant
2. Movin' Out (Anthony's Song)
3. Reverie (Villa D'Este)
4. Just The Way You Are
5. The Longest Time
6. Uptown Girl
7. This Night
8. Summer, Highland Falls
9. Waltz No. 1 (Nunley's Carousel)
10. We Didn't Start The Fire
11. She's Got A Way
12. The Stranger
13. Elegy (The Great Peconic)
14. Invention In C Minor
15. Angry Young Man
16. Big Shot
17. Big Man On Mulberry Street
18. Captain Jack
19. An Innocent Man
20. Pressure
21. Goodnight Saigon
22. Air (Dublinesque)
23. Shameless
24. James
25. The River Of Dreams / Keeping The Faith / Only The Good Die Young (Instrumental)
26. I've Loved These Days / Scenes From An Italian Restaurant (Reprise)

Line up:

David Rosental - keyboards
Chuck Burgi - drums
Greg Smith - bass
Michael Cavanaugh - piano
Tommy Byrnes - guitar
Wade Preston - piano
Dennis Delgaudio - guitar
John Scarpulla - sax, percussion
Scott Kreitzer - sax
Barry Danielian - trumpet
Kevin Osborne - trombone, whistler, vocals

Record Label / Year of Release:

Sony 2002


Movin' Out is a jukebox musical featuring the songs of Billy Joel.

Conceived by Twyla Tharp, the musical tells the story of a generation of American youth growing up on Long Island during the 1960s and their experiences with the Vietnam War. The principal characters are drawn from those who appeared in various Joel tunes: high school sweethearts Brenda and Eddie ("Scenes from an Italian Restaurant"), James ("James"), Judy ("Why Judy Why"), and Tony (Anthony in "Movin' Out"). The show is unusual in that, unlike the traditional musical, it essentially is a series of dances linked by a thin plot, and none of the dancers sing. All the vocals are performed by a pianist and band suspended on a platform above the stage while the dancers act out the narrative sans dialogue, making the show, in essence, a rock ballet.