Roger Glover
The Mask


1. Divided World
2. Getting Stranger
3. The Mask
4. Fake It
5. Dancin' Again
6. (You're) So Remote
7. Hip Level
8. Don't Look Down

Line up:

Roger Glover: Bass guitar/lead vocals/various other instruments
Dave Gellis: Guitar
Joe Jammer: Guitar
David Rosenthal: Keyboards
Jean Roussel: Keyboards
Chuck Burgi: Drums
Mark Conese: Simone Drums
Charlie Dechant: Saxophone
Nick Blagona: Percussion/dub
Criag Brooks: Background vocals
Kate McGarrigle: Background vocals
Denise Brooks: Background vocals
Kim Romano: Background vocals

Record Label / Year of Release:

21 Records/Polydor 1984


After his stint with Rainbow and before the Deep Purple reunion in 1984, Roger Glover found time to get a new set of musicians into the studio in the States, and even got a budget from the record company! Unfortunately, the punchy single The Mask and the album got lost against the Purple reunion.

Mask is the third solo album by Deep Purple bassist Roger Glover released in June 1984 by 21 Records/Polydor. Recorded at Bear Tracks, Boogie Hotel and Le Studio, 1983. Produced by Roger Glover. Mixed by Roger Glover and Nick Blagona.

The album was promoted with a couple of music videos. It was reissued on CD twice in the UK: in 1993 (Connoisseur Collection as 2CD together with "Elements") and in 2005 (Cherry Red/Lemon). None of these releases featured bonus material.

The release on audio casette has "Unnatural" as bonus track.